The Canadian Menu at McDonald’s

This summer they introduced a Canadian menu at McDonald’s featuring some of the unique McDonald’s items that they have across Canada. However, the catch was that they featured each item for only a week which meant that I couldn’t try them all (in one meal).   They had a Nanaimo bar sundae and a maple bacon poutine.   They also had a several different burgers but they truly special one was the McLobster!     I only tried to items: the Nanaimo bar sundae and the western BBQ burger. Nanaimo bars are named after a city in BC and consist of a chocolatey-coconut type base with butter icing in the middle and chocolate melted on top. I thought that the sundae was quite good. It had some coconut type taste which I thought reminded me of a nanaimo bar, but I was disappointed with the chocolate fudge that they added. It made it too sweet and made the sundae just taste like a regular sundae again. Since it was the week of the Western BBQ burger (hello Alberta!) we also tried that. It was actually quite nice (with some crispy deep fried onion bits) but it didn’t make me really think of Alberta. I felt like it was just another BBQ sauce burger.

The mist disappointing part is that I never got to try the maple bacon poutine. I’ve had McDonald’s poutine before and it was quite depressing but I was very hopeful for it. Maybe it’s better that it remains untasted.

Leave a comment